You are here: Home > Affiliate Industry News > Unethical Network?
Monday, 25 June 2007
I received a personalised (i.e. Dear Dave) email today from a Ross Truesdale of Affiliate Window. Not that bizarre until you realise a) I'm not a member of Affiliate Window and b) it is addressed to my Tradedoubler email address (tradedoubler@...)
It seemingly turns out Affiliate Window are trying to poach publishers from Tradedoubler.
Here's the email I was sent:
Hi Dave,As I deal with Tradedoubler for the Pixmania program, I emailed them to check whether the Tradedoubler Pixmania account was closing down, as the email above implies. Tradedoubler's response was:
Pixmania are offering you exclusive discount codes and product promotions in order for you to change links across to Affiliate Window. Pixmania are part of the DSGI Group( Curries, Dixons) who have recently moved over to Affiliate Window. These promotions /vouchercodes are only available through Affiliate Window!
Pixmania is part of the DSGi Group, who have recently signed an exclusive deal with Affiliate Window, collectively, as their network of choice.
As a result we can offer you the best promotions within the affiliate marketplace so you can maximise your campaigns!
DSGI brands include: PIXMANIA, CURRYS, THE LINK, PC WORLD, DIXONS.
To join the Pixmania programme through Affiliate Window simply click here
Once you have joined the Pixmania programme through Affiliate Window, drop me an email and I will confirm your application immediately and send you all discount codes available this week!
For information on promotional offers on any of the other DSGi brands please do not hesitate to get in touch.
I look forward to hearing from you shortly.
Best wishes
Ross Truesdale
Hi,I am very intrigued at why Affiliate Window are emailing me via my Tradedoubler email address. I would also like to know the outcome of this too as I think it's wrong for networks to poach publishers. It's frowned upon on the A4U Forum (memories of Michael Anthony posting links to the Affiliate Marketing School in individual network threads) and should be frowned upon in practise. Fine, email me through my website. Offer me better commission or incentives. Don't steal my email address from my preferred network.
Thank you for contacting TradeDoubler.
As far as I have been advised, Pixmania are not closing on the TradeDoubler network. I am unsure as to how Affiliate Window have obtained your details which leads me to believe that Pixmania have not acted in an ethical manner. I have therefore referred this to the account managers for this program to investigate further.
Bookmark this article in Bumpzee, Del.icio.us, Digg and Stumble Upon
Technorati tags: tradedoubler, affiliate window, ethics
You may also be interested in reading:
3 CommentsComments are manually approved and hence can a while to appear. Questions, informative posts, and feedback comments are gladly accepted. Spam is deleted. Spam-type comments have their links removed (Comment Policy)
I've always found Affiliate Window pretty good to deal with from and affiliate POV. It does sounds as if they've gotten all these e-mail addresses as a result of the shift of the other DSGI brands to their network.
Written on Wednesday 27 June 2007 at 01:43:54 GMT (Permalink)
Hi Dave
I wanted to reply and clear up some of the confusion surrounding the emails you have received from us on behalf of Pixmania.
The DSGi group - including Dixons, Currys, PC World, The Link and Pixmania - have signed up exclusively to the Affiliate Window network. Whilst the other brands have now closed their affiliate programs to run on our network, Pixmania have a three-month transition.
Despite this Pixmania are keen to migrate the programme's current affiliates onto the Affiliate Window network to ensure a continuation of the Pixmania relationship.
Pixmania have already informed TradeDoubler via their France office of the programme closure and therefore cannot comment on the lack of this communication to UK TD affiliates.
Your contact details were provided to us by Pixmania to ensure that we had sufficient time to contact you. I can assure you that this information was provided to us for this reason alone, and in no way are Affiliate Window looking to 'poach' you from your current network. We simply wanted to contact you, as we are doing with all Pixmania affiliates, to ensure you have the opportunity to choose to continue working with the programme in future. Using your TradeDoubler email seemed prudent since the programme is closing on TD and is associated with the Pixmania programme.
I hope that this clears up the situation, however if you would like to discuss this in more detail please feel free to contact me on 020 8269 4846.
Kind Regards
Anthony Clements
Manager, Key Accounts Team
Written on Friday 29 June 2007 at 15:10:32 GMT (Permalink)
Please allow 1 minute to connect. Please quote code DF

2008:
2007:
John
Very disappointing to see this sort of thing happening, and it's not the first time that affiliates have received pitches through AW - I remember the merchant who emailed all AW affiliates encouraging them to join their (rival) network once!
Written on Monday 25 June 2007 at 21:49:45 GMT (Permalink)